The Final Countdown

So, the work that has been completed regarding the resumes and cover letters is finally due. I took the time last night to peer review a fellow cadets cover letters. Again, I cannot stress enough how much peer reviewing benefits your own writing and obviously helps theirs as well. I found very few grammatical errors but I found several problems with the composition of the letter. 

To start, there was one sentence as the first paragraph just stating how they are applying for the internship, and how they found out about it. Nothing really wrong with that however, that was all that was written and then the second paragraph just stated much of the same information that was on the resume. Which is also fine, however it was very impersonal. That resume could have been just handed out at any company and it would have been relevant but not specific at all. 

My main advice to this prospective internship seeker was to just go through the website of the company and pick out the points that they like and expand a little further on them in the cover letter. I said that they need to make the reader understand that they know about the company, are willing to do research, and really take their job seriously. 

My papers are all printed out and in my Business Communications folder ready to go for class. I figured I should write this blog posting now before I forget as always. I look forward to going over these papers in class today.

One thought on “The Final Countdown

  1. Well, at least one of your most ardent blog fans is reading your posts! These are nicely developed posts, Keith, and provide an insightful discussion of your views on the revision and peer review process. Well done on getting (and keeping) caught up. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

